The journey begins

This is my first post! I am quite excited about this whole blogging thing.

What I basically would like to blog about is my life and things that I enjoy in life.

Life is compiled in a series of seasons. Each season brings with it new things and new beginnings or challenges. We must try not to prefer one season above another, but try to live in the present season. We can long for summer while it is winter, but then we won’t enjoy everything that the winter has to offer.

For example we might not enjoy the cold all that much, but we can embrace it. Wear beautiful clothes: jackets, boots, hats and scarves, make a fashion statement. Sit under a soft blanket and drink hot chocolate while reading a book or watching a movie. Do as you please, but make sure you enjoy the present season!

We do ever so often wish  away the dry season in our lives. I believe we should rather embrace the desert and the journey it offers. On the way we can learn a lot of lessons and get to know ourselves better. It is in the desert, were everything feels dry and dead that we need to search for life.

In His Word, the Lord tells us that He will lead us into the desert so that we will hear His voice, listen to Him and respond on His word. “Therefore I am now going to allure her; I will lead her into the desert and speak tenderly to her.” – Hosea 2:14

“The hand of the Lord was upon me there, and he said to me, ‘Get up and go out to the plain, and there I will speak to you.’ So I got up and went out to the plain. And the glory of the Lord was standing there. Like the glory I had seen by the Kebar River, and I fell facedown. Then the Spirit came into me and raised me to my feet…”

So basically what I would like to say is that the desert season is a wonderful season. And just because we perceive it to be dry, does not always mean that it is dry. I think it is an important season to experience. It is in the desert that we come to realize how much we need the Water of Life to survive. We have to be dependant on Someone bigger than us, to guide us through the desert and bring us into a place of abundance. We find the true Life in the desert!

When the journey ends and spring draws near, recall what you have learnt. Build up on the desert experience when moving into the next season. Be joyful when you hear the sound of birds singing in the air!

One thought on “The journey begins

What are your thoughts?

