A firm foundation

Life is filled with ups and downs. We have so many questions and so little answers. Sometimes we feel like our hope is failing us. It is easy to end up in a dump feeling sorry for yourself.

I wrote a post a while back about enjoying everyday. In it I mentioned Paul who rejoices while he was in prison. He writes: “Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice!” – Philippians 4:4

I tried to imagine sitting in prison myself – taking into account that the prisons of that time was not what it is now. It must have been really unclean and filthy, maybe a few rats running around in your cell. You are locked up for doing nothing wrong. You really don’t have a bed, besides the few stones that a prisoner before you took out of the wall to make a little shelter against the floor. Not the best idea because it left a gap for the cold night air to rush in. And I am sure the food is not something to write home about.

I’m not sure if this is what it was like, but I’m trying to create a scenario here. How would you feel? Unfairly treated for one! Uncomfortable. Cold. A bit sick perhaps. Really irritated. I think the list of complaints could go on forever.

Now why does Paul rejoice? Is he some kind of super-person?

Well, I think he really grasped something that most people don’t get, or don’t want to get.

Jesus Christ was his foundation. His firm foundation. He was in a real dump literally, but spiritually I think he couldn’t be in a better place! “I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do everything through him who gives me strength.” – Philippians 4:12-13

When we make Christ our foundation and build on it, anything can come our way and we will be able to make it through. I am not saying it is going to be easy. There will be times of abundance and times of real desert, but with Him you will be able.  When you do it out of your own strength you will almost definitely fail. It is quite a challenge to do nothing out of yourself. Living completely in surrender to Him. Trusting in His faithfulness. But it is so worth it!

I can really go on about this topic forever – I will probably write about it again some other time – but go and think about this. Are you built on The Firm Foundation?

What are your thoughts?

