Living an adventurous life

Two roads diverged in a wood and I,

I took the one less travelled by,

And that has made all the difference.

Is life not supposed to be an adventure? Aren’t we supposed to enjoy life?

Then why do we see so many people “stuck” doing something that slowly kill them. Surviving. Working frantically to one day  retire with ease and live comfortably. Then what happens after retirement? Are you going to start living at age 55 (if your lucky) or only at 65? Is that really what life is about? Has society infiltrated us with the pattern to follow: get a degree, get married, get children, work, retire, live…

I want “live” to be at the beginning of my sentence.

Jesus gives us a promise. “I am the gate; whoever enters through me will be saved. He will come in and go out, and find pasture. The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that the may have life and have it to the full.” – John 10: 9 – 10. It is a promise of abundant life. But we can only attain this by coming to Christ Jesus. It is the way God intended for us to live. In relationship with Him.

We often don’t understand things that happen in life. We don’t know what to do. We have decisions to make, but don’t know what way to go. In my life I have found that God has all the answers. He is the Creator and Author of life. He is God. He knows what He is doing, even though we don’t understand. He is busy unravelling a marvellous mystery.

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.” – Proverbs 3: 5 – 6.

God will make our paths straight, but it comes with an action from our side. Trust Him. And don’t rely on yourself, rely on Him. Stop doing things out of yourself. Stop trying to figure out were the path is going. Stop making plans and getting facts together. Enjoy the scenery. Live a little! Let Him guide the way.

We like to know what will happen next. Eliminating the risk is one of our most popular “hobbies”. But also we love being surprised. It is amazing to go on an adventure and discover new things. That thrill you get when you get something wonderful that you never expected! If I have to compare the two I would choose the unexpected above the expected. It is much more fun!

In my life I have learnt to live in relationship with Christ. I am constantly speaking to Him, enquiring from Him, telling Him things. And the whole time He is speaking back to me. We have conversations. He is like a real person to me. Jesus wants this for you as well.

He wants your all. He wants you to rely on Him. To completely surrender all you have to Him.

To go on an adventure with Him.

What are your thoughts?

