Holding on to the Truth

I find, that these days, truth is getting more and more confused. From being something simple, to being something complex and difficult. Black and white have mixed into grey. Right and wrong no longer counts, everything is just okay.

My heart’s desire is to walk in the ways of the Lord Jesus, while I still have breath in my lungs. It sounds simple and easy, and it can be. What is your focus? What is your true heart’s desire? What do you enjoy doing and feel fulfilled afterwards? These questions can help you find your purpose in life. You might already have an idea. Perhaps it’s helping others, organizing things really well or painting things around you. The list is endless.

God has called each of us for a purpose. It is not always clear or easy to find, at first, but as you start your journey with the Lord the fog clears up and you get a better picture of where you are going.

A few years ago I started to question what is the truth. We have so many Churches, so many Christians, each of them having some kind of “thing” that makes them different. You can either go to one church and get to dance, clap and wave your hands around in the air. Or on the other hand go to another church and get this really hard-core teaching – getting blown away a bit. I felt for a while I had to make a choice of what I want most, isn’t possible to have both? Then your friend tells you something fishy about one church, and another heard this or that about another church. I don’t know if you have experienced this, or if you are experiencing it now, but this does not sound simple. This is not easy, it’s not flowing.

There are so many doctrines going around and I was not sure what is truth. You agree with one thing, but then you have to deny another. That doesn’t work for me. It’s messy and complex. I know the Lord and He keeps things simple for me. So I had enough of people telling me what I can or cannot do, enough of what I may or may not believe.

Come back and sit at His feet.

“When I tried to understand all this, it was oppressive to me till I entered the sanctuary of God; then I understood their final destiny.” – Psalm 73:16 -17 (emphasis added)

The thing that I notice here is that he did not understand until he “entered the sanctuary of God”. That is the place where he found his answer. Jesus tells us plainly (and repeatedly) that He is the Way. He gives us water so that we will never thirst again (John 4:13-14). He is the bread of life (John 6:48). He is the light of the world (John 8:12). He is the way and the truth and the life (John 14:6).

When we hold onto Jesus, we hold onto the Truth. He tells us to keep our eyes on Him. Our focus, all we are, everything we do must be in line with Him. The moment we align our lives with His purpose, everything flows. It works together in harmony.

“I am the vine; you are the branches. If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.” – John 15:5

Abide in Him and He will abide in you. Don’t just accept everything anyone throws at you. Go and find out what is the truth, in His presence.

What are your thoughts?