What love is this

Recently the Lord began to speak to me about love.

Love is everywhere. God’s love for us, is everywhere. It is all around us. It envelops us. We can feel it when we focus on it, but most of the time we miss it. And we actually miss the point of living when we miss love.

Think about this life a bit. Why do we exist? What is the purpose of us being on earth? Why isn’t it just me and God, why the other people?

I believe the reason is love.

God cannot express Himself without love. He encompasses love. He shows us how to love. God is love.

I have come to believe that the reason we were made is to be loved by God and to show His love  to others. This sounds a bit cliché-ish, but bear with me. Now take a moment to think about your life. Why do you spend time with friends? Why do you respect you parents? Why don’t you just run around and hurt people all day long? Is it perhaps because we actually love… love others and ourselves. We don’t want to be hurt, so we don’t want to hurt others.

Each of us were made with a space inside of us that only love can fill. That only the love of God can fill. Think about the rude, naughty boy in your school. Yes, we all knew that boy. He always caused trouble. But don’t you think this is a call for attention and ultimately a call to be loved? What about that girl who goes a bit wild at parties. Trying so desperately to be noticed she’ll do about anything to be “the life of the party”, but inside there is no true life at all… All she really wants is love. She’s been searching for it for so long, but never found love. True love.

Take the time to read John 15:1-17.

Jesus tells us here that He is the vine and we are the branches. We can only bear fruit when we abide in Him.

“If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be given you. This is to my Father’s glory, that you may bear much fruit, showing yourselves to be my disciples.” – John 15:7-8.

When we remain in Christ, the things we ask for are the things He wants. The more our lives are aligned with His, the more we want the things He wants. And when we ask these things, for the glory of God, He gives it to us. Because He cannot do anything out of character. Because He is God and the desires we ask for are His desires, we receive it. When we ask Him to glorify His name, He will. His name is the Name above all names and the only Name that is worthy of praise! We bear HIS fruit by staying in Him.

Jesus continues to tells us that we must remain in His love so that we can do the things He has planned for us.

“As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Now remain in my love. If you obey my commands, you will remain in my love, just as I have obeyed my Father’s commands and remain in his love. I have told you this so that my joy may be in you and that your joy may be complete. My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you.” – John 15:9 – 12 (emphasis added)

Now please follow me on this. Read with attention. When we remain in the love of Christ we also remain in the love of the Father. We remain in this love by obeying His commands. And when we remain in His love, His joy remains in us. Our joy is complete when His joy is in us. So how do we then receive this joy? By obeying His command: Love each other as Jesus loves us. If you ask me, this sounds like a bit of an impossible task. When we ask people to love, we are actually asking them to do something Godly…

So can our joy be complete? Yes!

When we remain in Jesus and in His love we will bear His fruit. We have the Holy Spirit in us, so He helps us. We must remember to allow Him to help us. To surrender to Him. So this task, that seems impossible, is possible. Everything is possible with Christ. How is this possible then? Only through Christ Jesus.

We must surrender all we have. Abiding in Christ. Bearing His fruit. Receiving when we ask Him. If I ask Christ to give me the ability to love others as He loves me, He will do it. My main source, actually my only source of love must be Jesus. I receive from Him and give to others. This is our purpose in life. Keep your life simple and uncomplicated.

I can actually sum up this whole post in one sentence: Love Jesus, the rest will follow.

What are your thoughts?

